Mormon Temple Festival of Lights

Festival of Lights in Kensington Opens Thursday

Mormon Temple Festival of Lights

Photo | dctemplelights.lds.org

The 40th Annual Festival of Lights in Kensington opens on Thursday, November 30 and continues through Sunday, December 31. The festival includes a walking display of more than 650,000 lights, nightly musical performances in the indoor theater, indoor decorated Christmas trees, exhibit of crèches from around the world, and a life-sized outdoor nativity. The festival is located at the Visitors’ Center of the Washington D.C. Temple of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

The lights are illuminated each night at dusk.

A different performing artist or group is showcased each night, including bell ensembles, choirs, orchestras, and more. Each concert is presented twice nightly, typically at 7 and 8:30 p.m., at the Visitors’ Center.

The Visitors’ Center is open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. The lights are illuminated daily at dusk.

Video of the Festival of Lights

 

Dates

Nov. 30 to Dec. 31

Hours

Daily, 10 a.m. to 10 p.m.
Lights are illuminated at dusk.

Location

Washington D.C. Temple Visitors’ Center.

Costs

Free
Tickets are required for the concerts and are available online at Eventbrite.com Festival of Lights 2017 (extra tickets available one hour before event at visitors’ center)

Schedule of Musical Performances

Thursday, November 30:  Adventist Children’s Choir 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Friday, December 1:  In Harmony, community choir 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, December 2:  Suzuki Association of the Greater Washington Area Flutists 4:30 p.m.
Saturday, December 2:  Glory Star, Chinese children’s choir 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Sunday, December 3:  Melinda Baird, Shaundra Culatta, mother/daughter duo 6:30 p.m.
Sunday, December 3:  First Presidency’s Christmas Devotional 8 p.m.
Monday, December 4:  Janelle Parker, vocalist 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Tuesday, December 5:  Sforza Suzuki Strings 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, December 6:  Ramy Adly, Oud musician 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Thursday, December 7:  Madrigal Lords & Ladies of McDonough High School 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Friday, December 8:  Pickwick Players, lady a capella singers 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, December 9: The Mormon Choir of Washington D.C. 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Sunday, December 10:  Young Columbians, youth singers 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Monday, December 11:  Capitol Accord Chorus 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Tuesday, December 12:  Sister Shin and Sister Webster Special 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday, December 12: Little Stream, lady musicians 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, December 13: Rockville Brass Band 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Thursday, December 14: Northern Lights, swing band 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Friday, December 15:  Capitol Carillon Bell Choir 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, December 16:  Washington D.C. Temple Orchestra 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Sunday, December 17:  The United States Army Brass and Percussion Band 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Monday, December 18: 6 Degrees Singers 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Tuesday, December 19:  Harbor City Music Company Show Chorus 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, December 20:  Olney Concert Band 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Thursday, December 21: Katie Call, vocalist 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Friday, December 22:   Olney Big Band 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, December 23: Cello Boys 4:30 p.m.
Saturday, December 23:  Polynesian Dancers 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Sunday, December 24:  Sister Missionaries Choir 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Monday, December 25:  Sister Missionaries Choir 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Tuesday, December 26:  Potomac Children’s Choir 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday, December 26:  Lyons Sisters Violins 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Wednesday, December 27:  Christmas in Japanese Style 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Thursday, December 28:  Bernadette and Winston Charles, vocalists 4:30 p.m.
Thursday, December 28:  Baxter Family, bluegrass 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Friday, December 29:  Tate Family, string musicians 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, December 30:  Kristina Granado, vocalist 4:30 p.m.
Saturday, December 30: Britton Family, string musicians 7 & 8:30 p.m.
Sunday, December 31: Chinese Dancers 7 & 8:30 p.m.

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.

Comments

| No comments yet.



Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter