Founder’s Day (PHOTOS)

foundersdayThe Montgomery County Council and County Executive Isiah Leggett joined in the annual celebration of “Founder’s Day,” recognizing that on Sept. 6, 1776, the Maryland Constitutional Convention passed a bill, introduced by Thomas Sprigg Wootton, that divided what was then Frederick County into three counties: Frederick, Montgomery and Washington. This created the first counties in America to be established by elected representatives.

At the ceremonies in Rockville were, left to right: Jack Devine, president of the board of directors of the Montgomery Historical Society; Council President Craig Rice; and Wootton High School teacher Randy Alton.

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.
Sonya Burke

About Sonya Burke

Sonya Burke is the Multimedia Manager at Montgomery Community Media (MCM). You can email story ideas at or reach her on Twitter @SonyaNBurke.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter