Gaithersburg Election Results Certified

Mayor Sidney Katz Photo | City of Gaithersburg

Mayor Sidney Katz
Photo | City of Gaithersburg

The Gaithersburg Board of Supervisors of Elections officially certified the winners of Gaithersburg municipal elections for Mayor as Sidney A. Katz and for City Council as Henry F. Marraffa, Jr. and Michael A. Sesma on Nov. 6. The newly-elected officials will be sworn in at a special Mayor and City Council Meeting on Nov. 7 at 7:30 p.m. and will each serve four year terms.

After taking authorized provisional ballots into consideration, the total number of ballots cast in the Nov. 5 election increased from 1,730 to 1,737. The voter turnout percentage in this uncontested election was officially 5.40%.

Mayoral candidate Sidney Katz received 1,656 votes (95.33%), Henry Marraffa received 1,494 votes (86.01%) and Michael Sesma received 1,506 votes (86.70%). No other candidates ran in the 2013 election.

Detailed results by polling place are available on the election page of the City’s website at

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| No comments yet.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter