Gaithersburg’s Young Artist Award Winners

The winners of the 11th Annual Young Artist Award will be presented in concert at the Rosborough Cultural Arts Center on the grounds of Asbury Methodist Village on Saturday, March 22 at 7:30 p.m. Sponsored by the city of Gaithersburg and the Kentlands Community Foundation in partnership with Asbury Methodist Village, the Young Artist Award is a juried competition providing talented musicians ages 12 to 18 with an enriching artistic experience.

Tickets are $10 for city of Gaithersburg residents and $12 for nonresidents, and may be purchased in advance by calling the Gaithersburg Arts Barn at 301.258.6394 or online at The Rosborough Cultural Arts Center features a 265-seat auditorium, located at 409 Russell Avenue in Gaithersburg.

Winners of the 2014 awards are:

Piano Category
First Place – Melissa Klein
Second Place – Elleyana Simmons
Third Place – Tycho Gormley

Vocal Category
First Place – Simon Brake
Second Place – Ari Goldbloom-Helzner
Third Place – Grace Hebeisen

String Category
First Place – Raymond Lin, Cello
Second Place – Byung (Brian) Kim, Cello
Third Place – Audrey Tarn, Violin

Wind Category
First Place – Cathy Xue, Flute
Second Place (Tie) – Tracie Kwon, Flute Second Place (Tie) – Alexander Chang, Clarinet

Brass Category
First Place – Matthew Coile, Trumpet
Second Place – Paul Owens, Trombone

Honorable Mentions
Emily Tian, Piano
Alyssa Dowell, Soprano
Lang (Sunny) Qin, Violin
Kimberly Steininger, Flute
Michael Baniak, Trumpet

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter