Montgomery County Council picture

Montgomery County Council Meets on Dec. 11

The Montgomery County Council on Tuesday, Dec. 11, will receive an update on the County fiscal plan and economic indicators that will need to be considered as planning begins for the county’s Fiscal Year 2014 budget.

The Council’s regular session will begin at 9:45 a.m. in the Third Floor Council Hearing Room of the Council Office Building at 100 Maryland Ave. in Rockville. The meeting will be televised live by County Cable Montgomery (CCM—Cable Channel 6 on Comcast and RCN, Channel 30 on Verizon). The broadcast will be available via streaming through the County Web site at It will be rebroadcast on Friday, Dec. 14, starting at 9 p.m.

The Council’s morning session will begin with the presentation of proclamations Everett Davis of Montgomery Village Middle School, who was recently named Maryland Assistant Principal of the Year, and John Hamman of Montgomery College, who was recently named Maryland Professor of the Year.

At approximately 10 a.m. the Council will receive an update on the County’s six-year fiscal plan. Projections from the Office of Management and Budget and the Finance Department show that a balanced County budget in Fiscal Year 2014 would require a 1.0 percent reduction in overall agency spending. But because of the State “maintenance of effort” requirement for County spending for Montgomery County Public Schools and Montgomery College, spending for County Government and the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission would have to decline by 4.9 percent. A number of variables between now and May, when the Council adopts the budget, could impact that number.

The morning session also will include action on a resolution to recommend to the Maryland General Assembly enhancement of anti-bullying efforts through the use of multi-disciplinary teams also will be introduced during the morning session. Councilmember Valerie Ervin is the chief sponsor of the resolution. Councilmember President Nancy Navarro, Vice President Craig Rice and Councilmembers Nancy Floreen, Phil Andrews, Hans Riemer and George Leventhal are co-sponsors.

During the morning session the Council will appoint the Grants Advisory Group that will advise the Council on distributing special grants in FY14.

At 11:30 a.m., the Council will hold a public hearing on proposed Bill 32-12 that would require the County to adopt regulations permitting the noncompetitive appointment of qualified persons with severe developmental, physical or psychological disabilities to County merit positions.

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter