Montgomery Magazine Best of Montgomery County

Montgomery Magazine’s Inaugural Best of Survey

Before you make that dinner reservation, call a handyman or shop for jewelry it might be helpful to find out the favorite choices of other people living in Montgomery County. Montgomery Magazine conducted its first “Best of Montgomery County” survey this summer.

Publisher Soly Romero says the staff is getting positive responses to the survey. The magazine hopes to do other surveys in the future.

The Food & Drinks categories cover everything from burgers to wine bars. A variety of businesses and activities are included under Recreation & Retail winners.

Here are the final results released in August:

The Best of Montgomery County – 2016

BARBEQUE
Branded 72, Rockville // www.branded72.com
Rocklands, Rockville // www.rocklands.com
Urban, Sandy Spring // www.urbanbbqco.com

BURGERS
BGR – The Burger Joint* // www.brgtheburgerjoint.com
Five Guys* // www.fiveguys.com
Sunshine General Store, Brookeville //www.facebook.com/Sunshine-Store-139944961428/

DELI
Attman’s, Potomac // www.attmansdeli.com
Heckman’s, Bethesda // www.heckmansdeli.com
Parkway Deli, Silver Spring // www.theparkwaydeli.com

PIZZA
Frankly…Pizza, Kensington // www.franklypizza.com
Gentleman Jim’s, Gaithersburg // www.gentlemanjims.biz
Inferno Pizzeria, Darnestown // www.inferno-pizzeria.com

WINGS
Bon Chon* // www.bonchon.com
Hard Times Café, Rockville // www.hardtimes.com
Outta the Way Café, Derwood // www.outta.com

CHINESE
A & J Restaurant, Rockville // www.aj-restaurant.com
China Jade, Rockville // www.chinajaderockville.numberonechinesefood.com
Far East Chinese, Rockville // www.fareastrockvillemd.com

GREEK
Athens Grill, Gaithersburg // www.athensgrill.com
Big Greek Café (The)* // www.biggreekcafe.com
Cava Mezze* // www.cavamezze.com

INDIAN
Jewel of India, Silver Spring // www.jewelofindiamd.com
Passage to India, Bethesda // www.passagetoindia.info
Tandoori Nights* // www.tandoorinightsmd.com

MEXICAN
Gringos & Mariachis, Bethesda // www.gringosandmariachis.com
Los Chorros, Wheaton // www.loschorrosrestaurant.com
Sol Azteca, Olney // www.solaztecarestaurantolney.com

THAI
Ruan Thai, Wheaton // www.ruanthaiwheaton.com
Sabai Sabai Simply Thai, Germantown // www.sabaisimplythai.com
Tara Thai* // www.tarathai.comSUSHI
En Bistro & Sushi, Potomac // www.enbistro.com
Sushiko, Chevy Chase // www.sushikorestaurants.com
Yoyogi Sushi, Gaithersburg // www.facebook.com/pages/Yoyogi-Sushi/111557108882371

FRENCH
Ev & Maddy’s, Rockville // www.evmaddys.com
Ktown Bistro, Kensington // www.ktownbistro.com
Mon Ami Gabi, Bethesda // www.monamigabi.com

ITALIAN
Il Pizzico, Rockville // www.ilpizzico.com
Il Porto, Gaithersburg // www.ilportorestaurant.com
Olazzo* // www.olazzo.com

STEAKHOUSE
GrillMarX* // www.gmxsteak.com
Morton’s The Steakhouse, Bethesda // www.mortons.com
Nick’s Chophouse, Rockville // www.nickschophouserockville.com

VEGAN FRIENDLY
Mark’s Kitchen, Takoma Park // www.markskitchen.com
Vegetable Garden, Silver Spring // www.vegetablegarden.com
Yuan Fu Vegetarian, Rockville // www.yuanfuvegetarian.com

EXPENSE ACCOUNT RESTAURANT
Black Market Bistro, Kensington // www.blackmarketrestaurant.com
Comus Inn (The), Dickerson // www.thecomusinn.com
La Ferme, Chevy Chase // www.lafermerestaurant.com

RESTAURANT ON A BUDGET
Mi La Cay, Silver Spring // www.facebook.com/Mi-La-Cay-515293128543968/
Sardi’s Fusion, Olney // www.sardisfusion.com
Spice Xing, Rockville // www.passagetoindia.info

ICE CREAM PARLOR
Bruster’s, Gaithersburg // www.brusters.com
Jimmie Cone, Damascus // www.facebook.com/JimmieCone/
Yummy in My Tummy, Silver Spring // www.yummyinmytummy.net

COFFEE CAFE
202 Donuts, Bethesda // www.202donuts.com
CremCafe, Rockville // www.crem-café.com
Kefa Café, Silver Spring // www.facebook.com/kefacafe/

CUPCAKE
Cupcakes Lounge, Silver Spring // www.cupcakeslounge.com
Jenny Cakes Bakery, Kensington // www.jennycakesbakery.net
Lilly Magilly’s Cup Cakery, Gaithersburg // www.lillymagillys.com

BAR WITH LIVE MUSIC
Quarry House Tavern, Silver Spring // www.facebook.com/QuarryHouse/
Union Jack’s* // www.unionjacksrio.com
Villain & Saint, Bethesda // www.villainandsaint.com

CRAFT BREW PUB
Dogfish Ale House, Gaithersburg // www.dogfishalehouse.com
Gilly’s Craft Beer, Rockville // www.gillyscbfw.com
Growler’s Brew Pub, Gaithersburg // www.growlersrestaurant.com

HAPPY HOUR
Copper Canyon Grill* // www.ccgrill.com
Jaleo, Bethesda // www.jaleo.com/Bethesda
Paladar Latin Kitchen & Rum Bar // www.paladarlatinkitchen.com

IRISH BAR
Flanagan’s Harp & Fiddle, Bethesda // www.flanagansharpandfiddle.com
Irish Inn, Glen Echo // www.irishinnglenecho.com
Limerick Pub (The), Wheaton // www.thelimerickpub.net

SPORTS BAR 
Caddies on Cordell, Bethesda // www.caddiesoncordell.com
Greene Turtle (The)* // www.thegreeneturtle.com
Quincy’s South Bar & Grille, Bethesda // www.quincyssouth.com

WINE BAR
Adega Wine Cellars, Silver Spring // www.adegawinecellars.com
Olney Winery, Olney // www.olneywinery.com
Vino Volo, Bethesda // www.vinovolobethesdarow.com

 
RECREATION & RETAIL

WINERY
Great Shoals Winery, Silver Spring // www.greatshoals.com
Rocklands Farm Winery, Poolesville // www.rocklandsfarmmd.com
Sugarloaf Mountain Vineyard, Dickerson // www.smvwinery.com

FESTIVAL/FAIR
Corktoberfest, Gaithersburg // www.corktoberfest.com
Montgomery County Agricultural Fair Gaithersburg // www.mcagfair.com
Taste of Bethesda, Bethesda // www.bethesda.org

KIDS’ ATTRACTION
Earth Treks Climbing Center, Rockville // www.earthtreksclimbing.com
Rockin’ Jump, Gaithersburg // www.gaithersburg.rockinjump.com
Sandy Spring Adventure Park, Silver Spring // www.sandyspringadventurepark.org

MOVIE THEATER
ArcLight Cinemas, Bethesda // www.arclightcinemas.com
AFI Silver Theatre, Silver Spring // www.afi.com.silver
iPic Pike & Rose, Rockville // www.ipictheaters.com

PUBLIC GOLF COURSE
Blue Mash, Laytonsville // www.bluemash.com
Little Bennett, Clarksburg // www.mcggolf.com
RedGate, Rockville // www.redgategolf.com

LOCAL PARK
Black Hill Regional Park, Boyds // www.montgomeryparks.org
Brookside Gardens, Wheaton // www.montgomeryparks.org
Cabin John Regional Park, Bethesda // www.montgomeryparks.org

PERFORMING ARTS CENTERBlackRock Center for Arts, Germantown // www.blackrockcenter.org
Olney Theatre Center, Olney // www.olneytheatre.org
Strathmore, Rockville // www.strathmore.org

FITNESS CLUB
Foundry Fitness, Gaithersburg // www.foundryfitnessmd.com
Sport & Health* // www.sportandhealth.com
Zengo Cycle* // www.zengocycle.com

BANK
Eagle Bank* // www.eaglebankcorp.com
Monument Bank* // www.monumentbank.com
Sandy Spring Bank* // www.sandyspringbank.com

GROCERY STORE
Dawson’s Market, Rockville // www.dawsonsmarket.com
Snider’s Super Foods, Silver Spring // www.snidersfood.com
Wegman’s, Germantown // www.wegmans.com

HARDWARE STORE
Christopher’s Hardware, Sandy Spring // www.christophershardwarestore.com
Hardware City, Kensington // www.hardwarecitymd.com
Strosniders* // www.strosniders.com

HOME FURNISHINGS
Persiano Gallery, Gaithersburg // www.persianogallery.com
Sheffield Furniture, Rockville // www.sheffiedfurniture.com
Urban Country, Bethesda // www.urbancountrydesigns.com

PET STORE
Animal Exchange, Rockville // www.424pets.com
Unleased by Petco, Aspen Hill // www.unleashedbypetco.com
Whole Pet Central, Rockville // www.wholepetcentral.com

JEWELRY
Boone & Sons Jewelers, Ch. Chase // www.booneandsons.com
Masica Diamonds, Rockville // www.masicadiamonds.com
Kendra Scott, Bethesda // www.kendrascott.com

NURSERY
American Plant Food* // www.americanplant.net
Meadows Farms* // www.meadowsfarms.com
Seasons Nursery, Gaithersburg // www.seasonsnurseryinc.com

AUTO REPAIR
Carlos Auto Service, Kensington // 301.897.0880
Graeves Auto & Tire, Olney // www.graevesauto.com
Hillmuth Auto Repair* // www.hillmuth.com

DRY CLEANER
Metro Valet Cleaners, Silver Spring // 240.839.7168
Parkway Custom Drycleaning, Chevy Chase // www.parkwaydrycleaning.com
SK Cleaners, Rockville // www.rockvillecleanerandtailor.com

RETIREMENT COMMUNITY
Fox Hill, Bethesda // www.foxhillresidences.com
Leisure World, Silver Spring // www.lwmc.com
Riderwood, Silver Spring // www.ericksonliving.com/riderwood

MAID SERVICE
Isabella Maids, Silver Spring // www.isabellamaids.com
Nav-Ex Professional Cleaning, Gaithersburg // www.navexcleaning.com
Skilled Maids, Silver Spring // www.skilledmaids.com

BALLET STUDIO
Bella Ballet, Gaithersburg // www.bellaballet.org
Metropolitan Ballet Theatre & Aca., Gaithersburg // www.mbtdance.org
Studio of Ballet Arts, Sandy Spring // www.studioofballetarts.com

CATERER
Corcoran Caterers, Silver Spring // www.corcorancaterers.com
Ridgewells Catering, Bethesda // www.ridgewells.com
Savory Gourmet, Gaithersburg // www.savorygrmt.com

ELECTRICIAN
Electrical Connections, Gaithersburg // www.electricancontractorwashington.com
Ridgeway & Ernest, Silver Spring // www.ridgewayandernest.com
Tievy Electric, Rockville // www.tievyelectric.com

HANDYMAN
Handyman 4 U, Olney // www.olneymd.org/list/member
Honeywell Contracting, Silver Spring // www.honeywellcontracting.com
JW Home Improvement, Gaithersburg // www.jwhi.com

HOME IMPROVEMENT
BBC Construction, Silver Spring // www.bbcconstructiondc.com
Chevy Chase Builders, Bethesda // www.chevychasebuilders.com
Sandy Spring Builders, Bethesda // www.sandyspringbuilders.com

HVAC COMPANY
Hecox Home Services, Olney // www.hecoxhomeservices.com
Rod Miller HVAC, Silver Spring // www.rodmillerhvacmd.com
Vito Services, Rockville // www.vitoservices.com

PAINTER
Beautiful Home Services, Poolesville // www.beautifulhomeservices.com
Benchmark Painting & Carpentry, Kensington, // www.benchmarkpainting.com
Philbrick’s Decorating, Brookeville // www.olneyhousepainting.com

PLUMBING COMPANY
MH Barnes, Silver Spring // www.mhbarnes.com
Nicholson Plumbing, Kensington // www.nicholsonplumbingco.com
Stang Plumbing, Gaithersburg // www.stangplumbing.com

LAWN/LANDSCAPER
Fine Earth Landscape, Poolesville // www.fineearth.com
Johnson’s Landscaping Service, Chevy Chase, // www.jlsinc.net
John Shorb Landscaping, Kensington // www.johnshorblandscaping.com

HAIR SALON
Progressions Salon, Rockville // www.progressions.com
Salon Nader, Bethesda // www.salonnader.com
Studio 1 Hair Salon, Rockville // www.facebook.com/Studio1

DAY SPA
Blu Water Day Spa, Rockville // www.bluwaterdayspa.com
Red Door Spa* // www.reddoorspas.com
Tea Spa, Silver Spring // www.teaspadc.com

NAIL SALON
Bella Seneca Nail Salon, Germantown // www.bellaseneca.com
Nails by Timothy, Rockville // www.nailsbytimothy.com
Sandy Nails, Bethesda // www.sandynailscomp.com

Phyllis Armstrong

About Phyllis Armstrong

Phyllis Armstrong is a multimedia journalist with more than 30 years of experience in writing, reporting and broadcasting. She covered a wide range of news interests and issues as a general assignment reporter for WUSA-TV in Washington, D.C. from 1984 to 2009. Phyllis has continued to produce feature stories about local restaurants, culinary professionals and minority achievers for several online publications. Cooking, reading and Tai Chi are among are favorite things to do.

Comments

| No comments yet.



Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter