National Philharmonic: Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 21 at Strathmore

Christopher Taylor PHOTO | National Philharmonic

Christopher Taylor
PHOTO | National Philharmonic

Pianist Christopher Taylor and the National Philharmonic orchestra led by Music Director and Conductor Piotr Gajewski will perform Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 21 May 2 at 8 p.m. and May 3 at 3 p.m. at the Music Center at Strathmore, 5301 Tuckerman Lane, North Bethesda. The all-Mozart concert will also feature the Overture to the Marriage of Figaro and the Symphony No. 41, known as the “Jupiter.” A free lecture on the history and nuances of the program will be offered in the Concert Hall seventy five minutes before each performance. Ticket prices start at $28 and may be purchased online at National Philharmonic website or by calling 301.581.5100.

Children ages 7 through 17 are free, but do require tickets. Free children’s tickets must be reserved by calling 301.581.5100 or visiting the Strathmore Box Office.

The overture to The Marriage of Figaro instantly sets an emotional tone with its distinctive whirlwind humor. The overture is following by Mozart’s gorgeous Piano Concerto No. 21. The concert concludes with Mozart’s last symphony, the powerful No. 41 (“Jupiter”), an optimistic, triumphant and deservedly popular work. No one knows who gave the symphony the name “Jupiter,” but the music reflects its title with its lofty ideas and nobility of treatment.

Overture to the Marriage of Figaro
Piano Concerto No. 21 (“Elvira Madigan”)
Symphony No. 41 (“Jupiter”)

Christopher Taylor, pianist soprano
Piotr Gajewski, conductor

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter