National Philharmonic Great Classics at Strathmore

Pianist Gabriela Martinez Photo | National Philharmonic

Pianist Gabriela Martinez
Photo | National Philharmonic

The National Philharmonic conducted by Victoria Gau and featuring pianist Gabriela Martinez will perform Jan. 18 at 8 p.m. at the Music Center at Strathmore, 5301 /Tuckerman Lane, North Bethesda. Tickets are $28 to $84 and may be purchased online at Strathmore website or by calling 301.581.5100.

Mozart Divertimento K. 136
Bach Piano Concerto No. 1
Schubert Mass No. 2 in G Major

The brilliant inventiveness and virtuosity of the D Major Divertimento is, to echo the words of Alfred Einstein, “a masterpiece of masterpieces, on the smallest possible scale.” It is followed by Bach’s Piano Concerto No. 1, among the first concertos written for keyboard. The concert concludes with Schubert’s famous Mass No. 2 in G Major, composed in less than a week in 1815. All but unknown during Schubert’s life, it has become one of his most popular sacred works.

Garbiela Martinez, piano
Julie Keim, soprano
Robert Petillo, tenor
Kerry Wilkerson, bass
Victoria Gau, conductor

A free pre-concert lecture will be offered in the Concert Hall at 6:45 p.m.

Kids age 7-17 are free. Please call the Strathmore Ticket Office directly at 301.581.5100 to purchase Kids free tickets. Kids free tickets are not available for online purchase.

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter