Planning Board Applicants Include Familiar Names

A total of 19 people have applied to fill an open position on the Montgomery County Planning Board, including former County Councilmember Mike Knapp, former Rockville Councilmember John Britton, the former president of the Kentlands Citizens Assembly Richard Arkin, former planning board member, Meredith Wellington and two current members (Casey Anderson and Norman Dreyfuss) as well as Deputy Planning Director Rose Krasnow.

The opening occurred when Planning Board Chair Francoise Carrier said she would not seek reappointment when her term expires on June 14.

The County Council will designate a new chair in conjunction with the appointment process by designating either the appointee or another sitting Board member to be the chair. If a current member of the Board is designated chair, the new appointee will serve as a board member.

In addition to Carrier, current board members are Casey Anderson (D), Norman Dreyfuss (R), Amy Presley (R) and Marye Wells-Harley (D). Annual compensation for Board members is currently $30,000, and the Chair currently earns $168,450. The Council expects to set the salary for the Chair prior to the appointment.

Here’s a list of all the candidates who applied to County Council President Craig Rice by the April 7 deadline:

Montgomery County Planning Board
Applicant List – April 8, 2014

1. Messanvi Richard Adjogah
2. Richard Arkin
3. Casey Anderson
4. Stanley Botts
5. Rodella Berry
6. John Britton
7. Timothy Cadigan
8. Ella Joyce Cassidy
9. Norman Dreyfuss
10. David Fagan
11. David Freishtat
12. Edward Kelty
13. Mike Knapp
14. Rose Krasnow
15. Arquilla Ridgell
16. Mohammad Siddique
17. John Stodola
18. Meredith Wellington
19. Victor Weissberg

The Planning Board serves as the Council’s principal adviser on land use planning and community planning. Planning Board members also serve as Commissioners of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission.

The Planning Board’s responsibilities with regard to planning include preparation and amendment of the County General Plan; preparation and amendment of Master Plans and functional plans; formulation of subdivision regulations; preparation of or recommendations on text amendments to the County Zoning Code; implementation of the subdivision process by reviewing and approving all preliminary plans, site plans and other plans for development; advice on the planning implications of capital facilities and programs of the County government, Montgomery College, the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission and Montgomery County Public Schools; commenting, under its mandatory referral authority, on plans for public facilities of local, state and federal agencies; and approval of the work program and the annual operating budget for the Planning Department and the Commission’s bi-county offices.

The Planning Board sits as the Park Commission and approves the annual Parks Department operating budget and Capital Improvements Program (CIP); land acquisition contracts and major development contracts for parks; development plans for individual park facilities; policies for park operations; and park user fees.

The Planning Board meets all day every Thursday and often meets on one other evening a week. The entire Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission meets the third Wednesday of every month. On average, a Planning Board member can expect to spend at least two full days a week in scheduled and informal meetings. Additionally, substantial time is required for preparatory work and other activities related to Planning Board responsibilities.

For more information:

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.
Sonya Burke

About Sonya Burke

Sonya Burke is the Multimedia Manager at Montgomery Community Media (MCM). You can email story ideas at or reach her on Twitter @SonyaNBurke.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter