Seven MCPS Students Awarded Corporate-Sponsored National Merit Scholarships

Seven Montgomery County Public Schools seniors from five high schools have been awarded corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships, MCPS announced mcpsWednesday.

These scholarships, which range from $500 to $10,000, are financed by corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations.

The students are among 17 high school seniors in Maryland and more than 1,000 seniors nationwide to be selected as part of the 60th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, according to an MCPS news release. The scholars were selected from a pool of 15,000 students who were finalists in the National Merit Scholarship competition and met the criteria of their scholarship sponsors.

Corporate sponsors provide National Merit Scholarships for finalists who are children of their employees, who reside in the communities they serve, or who plan to pursue college majors and careers the sponsor wishes to support.

The MCPS winners, their intended field of study, and sponsors are:

  • Montgomery Blair High School
    Samantha Anne Menegas, Dow Jones, molecular biology
  • Winston Churchill High School
    Paula Susan Kleyman, CSC, biomedical engineering
  • Walter Johnson High School
    Amanda Kate Tang, Macy’s, Inc., undecided
  • Poolesville High School
    Matthew Michael Psaltakis, CACI, economics
  • Thomas S. Wootton High School
    Lindsay Gong, Mary E. Beyerle, international business; Karrie May Shi, Lockheed Martin, medicine; Victoria Ho Yu, Lockheed Martin, economics
Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter