A Night to Shine: Montgomery Community Media Hosts Inaugural EPIC Awards (PHOTOS & VIDEO)

It was night to shine for local content creators and media industry experts.

Dozens gathered at the Fillmore Music Center in Silver Spring Thursday evening for Montgomery Community Media’s first annual Excellence in Programming and Innovative Content (EPIC) Awards to highlight and honor those who are at the forefront of creating innovative multimedia content on television and the internet in the region.

“We’re really honoring those individuals tonight on every kind of media outlet on and every kind of media property who are able to engage with an audience in real significant ways,” said Merlyn Reineke, chief executive officer for Montgomery Community Media.

The way people consume news has changed over the last decade thanks to the evolution of social media platforms and technology.  One goal of Montgomery Community Media’s EPIC Awards ceremony was to demonstrate how local media,  no matter how it’s delivered, continues to thrive.

Joe Johns, CNN’s Senior Washington Correspondent was the Master of Ceremonies.

“Local media is the life blood of the community,” Johns said. “It’s the way people talk to each other in town. It’s how you know how your neighbors are doing, what the traffic is […] and how life is.”

Below, are the 2017 EPIC Award winners:

EPIC for Education

“Excellence & Dedication for Teaching and Sharing the Arts & Humanities”

The Honorable Mayor Jud Ashman, Gaithersburg Book Festival

EPIC for Innovation

“Innovation Excellence in Community Media” Takoma Radio, WOWD-LP 94.3 FM

EPIC for Inspiration

“Local Journalist Who Inspires Community Content Excellence”

Barbara Harrison, NBC4 Washington DC “Wednesday’s Child”

EPIC Youth in Media

“Outstanding Achievement in Media Creation (18 and Under)”

Timothy Zhou, Explorer Post 1921 | Explorer Club 995 | Film for a Cause

EPIC Monty’s Choice Award

“Members Who Best Exemplify MCM’s Mission”

Laura Rowles, Gaithersburg-Germantown Chamber of Commerce

EPIC Chairman’s Awards

Jim Vance, NBC4 Washington DC Anchor

Maureen Bunyan, Co-Founder National Association of Black Journalists Founder, International Women’s Media Foundation, Former Lead Co-Anchor, WJLA-TV

EPIC Lifetime Achievement Award

Juan Williams, Political Analyst, Fox News and Columnist for Washington Post, New York Times, Wall Street Journal



Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.
Mitti Hicks

About Mitti Hicks

Mitti Hicks is a multimedia journalist and community engagement specialist with Montgomery Community Media. She is passionate about telling stories that impact our community and may be reached at MHicks@mymcmedia.org and on Twitter @mittimegan.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter