City of Takoma Park Nominates Candidates for City Council, Mayor

Dozens gathered in Takoma Park’s Community Center Tuesday evening to nominate City Council and Mayor candidates for the upcoming election in November.

To qualify for candidacy, residents must be nominated and seconded by the nominating caucus made up of qualified Takoma Park voters.

“I think this is one of the most exciting parts of our government,” Takoma Park City Manager, Suzanne Ludlow, said. “You get to hear a variety of people speak and so you get to hear the different tone of candidates from their groups.”

The following people were nominated as candidates:


Kate Stewart (incumbent)

Ward 1: 

Peter Kovar (incumbent)

Ward 2:-Open seat. Tim Male is not seeking re-election

Cindy Dyballa

Joe Edgell

Ashleigh Nugent

Ward 3: Open seat. Rizzy Qureshi is not seeking re-election 

Kacy Kostiuk

Ward 4:

Terry Seamens (incumbent)

Ward 5 

Amee Bearne

Jarrett Smith (incumbent)

Ward 6- Open seat. Fred Shultz is not seeking re-election. 

Talisha Searcy

Jason Small

Early voting will take place between Nov. 1 and Nov. 6.  The general election will be held on Nov. 7.

Takoma Park 2017 Elections: Here’s What You Need to Know

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.
Mitti Hicks

About Mitti Hicks

Mitti Hicks is a multimedia journalist and community engagement specialist with Montgomery Community Media. She is passionate about telling stories that impact our community and may be reached at and on Twitter @mittimegan.


One Response to “City of Takoma Park Nominates Candidates for City Council, Mayor”

  1. Avatar
    On September 13, 2017 at 9:09 am responded with... #

    seems odd to be nominated then up for election; almost an elimination process negating a need for an election

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter