Council Requests May 1 Briefing on Silver Spring Transit Center

The Montgomery County Council sent a letter on April 26, signed by all nine Councilmembers, to Montgomery County Executive Isiah Leggett expressing its surprise to learn that the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) would not accept the Silver Spring Transit Center as contemplated by the Memorandum of Understanding between WMATA and Montgomery County. The Council has asked the Executive to appear before it at 2 p.m. on Wednesday, May 1, to explain the current status of the transit center.

The letter is posted below:

Rockville, Maryland

April 26, 2013

County Executive Isiah Leggett
Executive Office Building (EOB)
101 Monroe Street, 2nd Floor
Rockville, MD 20850

County Executive Leggett:

On April 1, 2013, Council President Navarro and Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy, and Environment (T&E) Committee Chair Roger Berliner sent you a memo requesting that “you or your staff provide the Council regular briefings on the progress of the Silver Spring Transit Center.” On April 9, 2013, David Dise, the Director of the Department of General Services, briefed the Council on the status of the Transit Center and your plan to remediate the construction defects discovered by KCE.

Yesterday, we were surprised to read in a Washington Post story that WMATA delivered a letter to Mr. Dise on April 12, two weeks ago, stating that WMATA would not accept the Transit Center as contemplated by the Memorandum of Understanding between WMATA and Montgomery County. This was a significant development which warranted prompt notification of the Council.

Please appear before the Council this Wednesday, May 1, at 2 p.m. to explain the current status of the Transit Center.

Additionally, at the April 9 briefing Council President Navarro specifically requested weekly written briefings on the Transit Center from the Executive Branch. We reiterate that request today.


Nancy Navarro Craig Rice Roger Berliner Phil Andrews
Council President Vice President Chair, T&E Committee District 3
District 4 District 2 District 1

Marc Elrich Valerie Ervin Nancy Floreen George Leventhal
At Large District 5 At Large At Large

Hans Riemer
At Large

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter