photo of montgomery college

County Council Seeks Applicants for Nominating Committee for College’s Board of Trustees

Montgomery College Celebrates Scholars and Donors for slider 855 x 380The Montgomery County Council is seeking applicants for the nominating committee for the Board of Trustees of Montgomery College. The term of Dwayne Leslie expires on Sept. 14. Leslie has indicated he will apply for reappointment.

Letters of application must be received no later than 5 p.m. on July 20.

The committee consists of two members appointed by the County Executive, one by the Montgomery College Alumni Association and two by the County Council. The current Council representatives on the committee are Leslie and Kenneth Jones. The terms are for two years. The nominating committee was established by State law and has no limit to the number of terms members can serve.

The committee reviews applications for vacancies on the Board of Trustees of Montgomery College and submits recommendations to the Governor, who makes the appointment. Approximately three committee meetings are held each year. Meeting dates and locations are arranged at the convenience of the entire committee. In the past, the committee chairperson has requested that committee members also attend several Board of Trustees meetings.

Officers or employees of Montgomery College, or persons otherwise subject to the authority of the college, are not eligible for appointment to the committee. Also ineligible are officers of any board or agency of the State of Maryland; officers of Montgomery County or any County board or agency; and officers of any municipality located in Montgomery County or any board or agency of any municipality located in the County.

County residents who are registered voters and have knowledge of, and an interest in, meeting higher education needs of the County, and who have demonstrated an active interest in civic affairs, are encouraged to apply.

Applicants should send a letter expressing interest, including a resume listing professional and civic experience, to Council President Nancy Floreen, County Council Office, Stella B. Werner Council Office Building, 100 Maryland Avenue, Rockville, MD 20850 or send an email to:

Letters of application must be received no later than 5 p.m. on Wednesday, July 20. It is the Council’s policy not to consider applications received after the deadline. The names of all applicants are published and resumes are made available for public review.

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter