Graduation Caps thrown in sky photo

Fifteen MCPS Students Earn National Merit Scholarships

Graduation Caps thrown in sky photoFifteen Montgomery County Public Schools students have earned college- and university-sponsored National Merit Scholarships in the latest round of awards from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Awardees are selected by each sponsoring college or university from a group of finalists in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program. The awards provide recipients between $500 to $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

The winners, their intended career fields and the sponsoring university or college are:

Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School

  • Max E. Niebylski, computer science, University of Maryland

Montgomery Blair High School

  • Yaelle B. Goldschlag, computer science, University of Maryland
  • Mariam B. Jiffar, writing, University of Chicago
  • Caitlyn A. Singam, medicine, University of Maryland
  • Timothy T. Zhou, computer science, University of Maryland
  • Camille D. Kirsch, law, University of Chicago

Clarksburg High School

  • Aditya V. Kaliappan, computer science, University of Maryland
  • Christopher Yue, computer science, University of Maryland

Richard Montgomery High School

  • Jacob F. Klosowski, engineering, University of Maryland
  • Eric K. Li, industrial engineering, Northwestern University
  • Seema E. Snitkovsky, industrial engineering, University of Southern California

Walt Whitman High School

  • Elana R. Shaw, medicine, Emory University

Thomas S. Wootton High School

  • Paula B. Manis, medicine, University of Maryland
  • Eileen C. Stauffer, physics, University of Maryland
  • George Wu, business, University of Maryland
Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter