First Responders Honored by Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless

Photo courtesy of Montgomery Coalition for the Homeless.

Montgomery County’s first responders were honored with the 2018 Distinguished Service Award by Montgomery County Coalition for the Homeless (MCCH).

County first responders were honored during the coalition’s 2018 Gala held at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center Thursday evening.

“First responders are often the first people to interact with individuals experiencing homelessness,” said Debbie Ezrin, director of development and communications for MCCH. “They play a center role for connecting individuals in need with county services to help end homelessness.”

More than 450 people gathered at the conference center to honor the county’s first responders, the community partnerships, volunteers who contribute to the coalition’s goal of ending chronic homelessness.

MCCH’s gala serves as the organization’s largest fundraiser and the money raised will go towards its programming.

The following people accepted MCCH’s 2018 Distinguished Service Award on behalf of all first responders in Montgomery County:

  • Montgomery County Police Chief Tom Manger
  • Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Chief Scott Goldstein
  • Maryland-National Capital Park Police Acting Chief George J. Coleman
  • Takoma Park Police Chief Antonio B. DeVaul
  • Chevy Chase Police Chief John Fitzgerald
  • Sheriff Darren Popkin
  • Rockville Acting Police Chief Bob Rappoport
  • Gaithersburg Police Chief Mark Sroka

Hear more on why staff from Montgomery Coalition for the Homeless honored first responders in the video below:

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.
Mitti Hicks

About Mitti Hicks

Mitti Hicks is a multimedia journalist and community engagement specialist with Montgomery Community Media. She is passionate about telling stories that impact our community and may be reached at and on Twitter @mittimegan.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter