Five Washington Spirit Players Headed to the Olympics (PHOTO)

PHOTO| Washington Spirit

PHOTO| Washington Spirit

Five Washington Spirit Players are headed to Rio, Brazil for this year’s Olympics in August.

Forward Crystal Dun and defender Ali Krieger will represent the United States Women’s National Team. Midfielder Diana Matheson, defender Shelina Zadorsky and goal keeper Stephanie Labbe will play for the Canadian Women’s National Team.

According to a news release, this will be Dunn’s first time taking part in a major international competition.

“I am more than excited about going to Rio,” Dunn said. “Making this roster means so many things to me. I have worked very hard to be exactly where I am today. I feel like everything I’ve gone through has made me better. I am excited to represent my country in Rio,” she said.

Krieger will also be making her Olympic debut, but she is no stranger to the international stage. Krieger was a member of the 2015 Women’s World Cup winning team in Canada.

“I’m so honored to be part of Team USA and represent my country in Rio,”  Krieger said. “I’ve been waiting for this moment for my entire life. I want to thank my Washington Spirit teammates, staff, and fans for their support. I will carry a piece of each of you with me,” she said.

Labbe and Zadorsky are also making their first appearance at the Olympics. Labbe may be Canada’s starting goal keeper, the news release stated.

“It’s a big honor to be chosen to represent your country, and I’m excited for my first Olympics,” Labbe said. “The Olympics are special because it’s not just soccer. There are so many other sports and high-profile athletes, so just being in that environment and seeing all the inspiration around me will be amazing,” she said.

“It’s very exciting to be named to my first Olympics,” Zadorsky said. “It’s been a surreal year being with the national team and now to prepare for Rio, which is right around the corner. I’m looking forward to playing with this team and this family we have created,” she said.

They players will play in two groups. Group G features the United States,  Colombia, France, and New Zealand. Group F features Canada, Australia, Germany, and Zimbabwe. Opening ceremonies take place on August 5th. The first day of group play for both the United States and Canada is August 3rd.

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter