Gaithersburg City Hall

Gaithersburg Election: Candidates Packets Available July 8

Gaithersburg residents will cast their ballots for Mayor and two City Council Members on Tuesday, November 5. The Mayor and Council Members each serve a four-year term. The terms of office for Mayor Sidney Katz and Council Members Henry F. Marraffa, Jr. and Michael A. Sesma will expire in November.

Residents interested in running for office in the November 5 election can pick up a candidate’s packet at City Hall, 31 South Summit Avenue, on or after Monday, July 8. These documents will also be available on our website. Candidates must file a petition of nomination with the City Board of Supervisors of Elections via the City Attorney’s Office. The petition must be signed by at least 100 City residents who are registered voters. To confirm registration, contact the Montgomery County Board of Elections at 240-777-VOTE.

Petitions and associated documents must be returned to the City Attorney’s Office by 5 p.m. on Friday, September 20.

When petitions of nomination have been validated by the Board of Supervisors of Elections for the city of Gaithersburg, the candidates’ names are placed on the ballot. Note that residency and other restrictions apply. Candidate’s packets contain full details.

City residents who are registered to vote in Montgomery County are automatically registered to vote in City of Gaithersburg elections. The deadline to register for the upcoming City election is Monday, October 21. For registration information contact the Montgomery County Board of Elections at 240.777.VOTE (8683) or visit

Election Day is Tuesday, November 5. The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Candidate Packets Available: July 8
Filing Deadline for Candidates: September 20
Absentee Ballots Available: October 4
Last Day to Register to Vote: October 21
Early Voting at City Hall (GA01): October 27: 9 a.m. – 2 p.m.
November 2: 12 – 5 p.m.
Election Day: November 5

On Election Day polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Please note that polling places differ from those used in state and federal elections.

City Hall
Izaak Walton League
Kentlands – Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
Villa Ridge Community Room
Potomac Oaks Clubhouse
Asbury Methodist Village

For more information on city of Gaithersburg elections, including instructions for absentee ballots and early voting, contact the Elections Clerk, Lauren Klingler, at 301.258.6310 ext. 2172, or

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter