Hogan Signs Executive Order to Create Emergency Redistricting Commission

Governor Larry Hogan is calling on Marylanders to apply for an emergency redistricting commission to redraw the legislative lines in District 6. The commission comes in response to a federal judge ordering the district to be redrawn.

Yesterday, Hogan signed an executive order, calling for a nonpartisan Emergency Commission on Sixth Congressional District Gerrymandering.

“This nonpartisan commission will be charged with preparing a plan in an open, public, and transparent manner to amend the boundary lines of the sixth congressional district to address all constitutional violations,” said Hogan.

The commission will consist of nine members in total: three registered democratic voters, three registered republican voters, and three registered non-affiliated voters.

Hogan has appointed Judge Alex Williams (D) and Walter Olson (R) as co-chairs of the commission. Additionally, Hogan appointed Ashley Oleson, an unaffiliated voter, to serve as a representative on the emergency commission.

The three individuals have traveled around Maryland, getting input from local citizens about redistricting in the state. The other six individuals appointed to the nonpartisan commission will consist of citizens from different areas in Maryland.

Hogan said, “Each political appointee must be a Maryland voter, who has for at least three years, been registered continuously with the same party, or a registered voter who has been continuously unaffiliated with either the republican or democratic parties.”

Lobbyists, politicians, and individuals who work for a political party are barred from applying to the committee. Marylanders can apply to the commission by December 10.

“The people of Maryland and the federal courts agree that the time for our state to act is now to finally restore balance and fairness to our elections,” said Hogan.

Full Press Conference:


Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.
Deirdre Byrne

About Deirdre Byrne

Deirdre Byrne is a social media coordinator for Montgomery Community Media. She can be reached at dbyrne@mymcmedia.org or on twitter at @DeirdreByrneMCM.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter