Montgomery County Executive-Elect Marc Elrich Thanks Supporters Tuesday Night

Montgomery County’s new county executive will be Marc Elrich, who captured 64.3 percent of the vote in Tuesday’s unofficial results.

Elrich defeated Democrat-turned-Indepenedent Nancy Floreen who received 19.2 percent and Republican Robin Ficker who received 16.4 percent.

The County Council will remain an all-Democratic panel, with the elections of at-large members Gabe Albornoz, Evan Glass and Will Jawando, and Andrew Friedson, who will represent District 1.

The newcomers will join Democratic incumbents at large member Hans Riemer; Craig Rice, District 2; Sidney Katz, District 3; Nancy Navarro, District 4; and Tom Hucker, District 5.

After the Democratic primary, Elrich said he would invite his main challenger David Blair onto his transition team. Elrich emphatically said he would not make the same offer to Floreen.

Here’s the victory speech Elrich delivered to supporters at the Silver Spring Civic Building:

Floreen delivered a short concession speech, wishing Elrich and the county the best:

Ficker said he plans to offer a property tax limit in 2020.


Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter