photo Ike Leggett

Montgomery Serves Awards Announced (Video)

Montgomery County Executive Isiah Leggett announced the winners of the Montgomery Serves awards, the Neal Potter Path of Achievement awards and the Roscoe R. Nix Distinguished Community Leadership awards today (March 28). A ceremony to present the awards to the nine honorees will take place on Monday, April 29 at the Imagination Stage in Bethesda. The event is open to the public, but reservations are required due to limited seating. Register online at Montgomery Serves or call 240.777.2600.

In Montgomery County, our people are our greatest resource. Montgomery County is the very special place it is today because of people like Odessa Shannon, Carol Trawick, Teresa Rios Wright and the other winners and nominees we will honor at the Montgomery Serves Awards celebration,” said Isiah Leggett.

Leggett selected Odessa Shannon, Carol Trawick and Teresa Rios Wright as recipients of the Roscoe R. Nix Distinguished Community Leadership Award. This award was established by the County Executive to honor community icon Roscoe Nix, who gave a half century of public service to Montgomery County. The Nix award honors an individual or individuals who over the course of their distinguished lives of community service have made extraordinary contributions to the quality of our community at the very highest levels of excellence.

As a federal executive, elected member of the Board of Education, director of the Office of Human Rights and community activist, Shannon has worked tirelessly to ensure that everyone is treated with dignity and has an opportunity to thrive.

During and after an extraordinarily successful business career, Trawick – cofounder with her husband of the Jim and Carol Trawick Foundation – has devoted her time, talent and resources to serving others and promoting the arts.

From a key position within the school system, Wright has been the heart and soul of a network of community organizations and government agencies dedicated to making Montgomery County one of the nation’s most immigrant friendly communities.

The Neal Potter Path of Achievement Award, named for the former County Counci lmember, County Executive and civic activist, honors seniors age 60 and older who have given a lifetime of volunteer community service. Representatives from the Commission on Aging chose Marcine D. Goodloe and Joyce B. Siegel as winners from a large pool of nominations made by the public. Goodloe was nominated by the Montgomery County Volunteer Fire-Rescue Association for her more than 40 years of service as a tireless advocate of fire and rescue issues at the County, state and federal level. Members of the Bernie Scholarships Award Program nominated Siegel for this award based on her work addressing housing issues of the poor in Montgomery County. Siegel was a driving force in the movement to revitalize the Scotland neighborhood, a historically African American community in Potomac. For five decades she has worked to ensure affordable and decent housing for all Montgomery County residents.

The 2013 Montgomery Serves Awards recognize special volunteer accomplishments during the 2012 calendar year in four categories: Alfredo Colina Iturralde was selected in the youth category; MedImmune in the business service category; Robert Zagorski for community service by an individual; and the Montgomery County Alumnae Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. for community service by a group. Judges chose these winners from nearly 100 nominations.

The Montgomery Serves Awards ceremony is hosted by the County’s Volunteer Center in partnership with the Corporate Volunteer Council and the Fund for Montgomery (FFM). The Fund for Montgomery, a fund of the Community Foundation of Montgomery County, with special support from the Carl M. Freeman Foundation and other partners, are event sponsors.

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter