Graduation Caps thrown in sky photo

Twenty-one MCPS Students Earn National Merit Scholarships

Graduation Caps thrown in sky photoTwenty-one Montgomery County Public Schools students have earned  National Merit Scholarships in the latest round of awards from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Awardees were selected from more than 15,000 students nation wide and were among 48 awardees chosen in Maryland. The awards provide recipients with a one-time award of $2,500 for college tuition.

On April 23, 14 MCPS seniors from five high schools were announced as recipients of corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships, which are financed by corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations. Additional National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced later this year.

The winners and their intended career fields are:

Montgomery Blair High School

  • George T. Klees, computer science
  •  Noah G. Singer, computer science
  • David A. Witten, computer science
  • Katherine J. Wu, applied mathematics

Winston Churchill High School

  • Jiawei Bai, international law
  • Noah Y. Kim, medicine
  • Carissa Wu, applied mathematics

Walt Whitman High School

  • Joshua A. Engels, computer science

Walter Johnson High School

  • Beryl A. Hovis-Afflerbach, astrophysics
  • Zelin Liu, academia
  • Jacob S. Lu, business

Thomas S. Wootton High School

  • Trent A. Folk, entrepreneurship

Poolesville High School

  • Sreya Vangara, electrical engineering

Richard Montgomery High School

  • Charlotte R. Hirsch, social science
  • Lucia Y. Jiang, law
  • Rachel R. Li, law
  • Eli J. Strauss-Reis, undecided
  • Grace M. Wu, business
  • Vivian Y. Yeh, graphic design
  • Isabelle Y. Zhou, entrepreneurship
  • Kyle K. Zhu, finance
Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter