Newly Elected, Re-Elected Board of Education Members Sworn In

The Montgomery County Board of Education held an outdoor swearing in ceremony for the three recently elected members.

Newly elected member of the BOE Lynne Harris (At-Large) and re-elected members Shebra L. Evans (District 4) and Rebecca Smondrowski (District 2) was sworn in on Tuesday outside of the Carver Educational Services Center in Rockville.

MCPS-TV was there to cover the swearings-in.

The event was closed to the public due to the current health crisis.

Mrs. Evans was elected to her first four-year term on the Board in November of 2016. Mrs. Smondrowski was elected to her second four-year term also in November of 2016. Ms. Harris will succeed Ms. Jeanette E. Dixon, who did not seek re-election.

The election of new officers will take place during the Board’s virtual business meeting on December 3 where video clips of the swearing-in ceremony will be played.

Write a Comment

Related Articles