Three Eastern Middle School Students Win First Place in C-SPAN’s National Video Competition

Three Eastern Middle School students won first place in this year’s StudentCam national video documentary competition open to students in grades 6-12 contest. Over 5,300 students participated in the competition which was organized by C-SPAN television network. Students were asked to create a 5-6 minute-long documentary that addressed the theme, “What’s Your Vision in 2020?” on the issue they wanted the presidential candidates to address. More than 2,500 documentaries were submitted to C-SPAN.

Marissa Boucher, Yuna Chun and Defne Ustundag, students at Eastern Middle School in Silver Spring, won first prize in the middle school division. They will share $3,000 for the documentary, “Blackout: Misinformation in the Age of Social Media.” This documentary will air on C-SPAN at 6:50 a.m. ET and throughout the day on April 17.

In addition to the grand prize and first prize winners, C-SPAN awarded 16 second prizes, 32 third prizes and 97 honorable mention prizes. These winning videos will receive cash awards of $1,500, $750 and $250, respectively.

Montgomery Blair High School seniors Lintaro Donovan and Young-Bin Lee won a second place prize in the high school east division for their “Democracy Must Be Learned: Civics Education and Youth Engagement” video. This documentary will air on C-SPAN at 6:50 a.m. ET and throughout the day on April 16. The two students will receive $1,500 as one of this year’s 2nd Prize winners

Roberto Middle School students Soumya Jailwala and Anna Srey produced and published a video titled “DACA: The Dreamers of America” It and three other submissions won second place for the middle school division.

Derek Mu and Jonathan Fan, eighth-graders from Takoma Park Middle School also won second place for the middle school division for their video titled “The Price of Life“.

County Executive Marc Elrich congratulates the winners in this short video:

C-SPAN awarded eight third place prize winners for the high school east division. Montgomery County students won half of the winning spots. Their videos include:

  • Montgomery Blair High School students Clara Rayburn and Celeste Basken produced their video titled “Seeds of Change: Protecting Agriculture from the Changing Climate
  • Montgomery Blair High School students Emmanuel Kraft, Michael Dinkel and Liam Volz produced their winning  video titled “Homeless Not Hopeless
  • Ninth-graders Kaitlyn Li and Ida Chen from Winston Churchill High School won for their video “The Price We Pay
  • Richard Montgomery High School ninth-graders Allison Fan and Evelyn Shue’s video titled “Broken

C-SPAN awarded eight third prize winners for the middle school division. Three of the eight winners were from schools in Montgomery County. Their videos include:

During the month of April, C-SPAN will air all the winning videos.

The entire list of StudentCam prize winners, including 18 honorable mentions, may be viewed here.


Write a Comment

Related Articles