Harris, Dasgupta Win School Board Primary for At Large Seats; Advance to November Ballot

It’s official. Lynne Harris and Sunil Dasgupta were the two top vote getters for the Montgomery County Board of Election at-large seat.

Harris and Dasgupta now move onto the November election.

According to unofficial results from the June 2 primary election, Harris won 29.2 percent of the vote, and Dasgupta earned 20.6 percent. Harris had 63,467 votes and Dasgupta received 44,736.

Steve Austin came in third, with 13 percent of the vote, receiving 28,203 votes, according to the Maryland State Board of Elections.

Incumbent Shebra Evans earned 137,393 votes, which is 65 percent of the total District 4 vote. Steve Solomon came in second with 59,843 votes, which is 28.3 percent. Both candidates will advance to the November election.

Montgomery County will choose three nonpartisan members to the Board of Education in November. The top two vote-getters in the June 2 primary for the at-large and District 4 seats will move on to the general election.

District 2 only has two candidates who filed, so both candidates will advance to the general election. They are Rebecca Smondrowski and Michael Fryar.

Write a Comment

Related Articles