County Department of Environmental Protection Moves to Wheaton

New Montgomery County Department of Environmental Protection headquarters in Downtown Wheaton.

The Montgomery County Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) has relocated its headquarters to a new 14-story building in Downtown Wheaton, according to a Montgomery County press release.

According to the county, the 308,000-square-foot office building is an appropriate home for the DEP as it was designed and built with the intent of becoming certified as one of Maryland’s first LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) Platinum government-owned buildings. Sustainable design features include geothermal heating and cooling, green roofs, integral solar panels, gray water reuse and on-site stormwater management.

“There is no better place for the County’s Department of Environmental Protection than this new, energy-efficient, innovative office space,” said DEP Director Adam Ortiz in the statement.

The new building includes electric vehicle charging stations and close proximity to the Wheaton Metro Station and bus lines. The building’s large, open lobby contains a two-story living wall of greenery that reflects innovative and sustainable design. Office interiors were designed with locally sourced materials and recycled materials.

The building, which was completed in July, is part of the Wheaton Revitalization Project in Downtown Wheaton. It is located at 2425  Reedie Drive.

The Wheaton Revitalization Project is part of the county’s effort to revive Downtown Wheaton. It included the construction of a new town square—the Marian Fryer Town Plaza—which is adjacent to the office building. The plaza is a public gathering spot with a fountain and an outdoor amphitheater that will serve as a prime location for public events, according to the press release.

Ortiz said the department is “thrilled to be part of this project.”

“[T]his mixed-use development is geared to improve mobility, increase Wheaton Metro Station use, reduce traffic congestion and increase the diversity of employment opportunities and services in the Wheaton area,” he said.

The building will also serve as the new headquarters for the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, and as the main offices of Montgomery County’s Department of Permitting Services, Health and Human Services and several other departments.

Due to the COVID-19 health crisis, the DEP offices will be closed to the public at this time. However, DEP remains open electronically.

Write a Comment

Related Articles