Primary Vote Won’t Be Certified For More Than A Week

Lynne Harris and Sunil Dasgupta.

Lynne Harris and Sunil Dasgupta remain the two top vote getters for the Montgomery County Board of Election at-large seat, according to unofficial results from the June 2 primary election.

Harris won 28.1 percent of the vote, and Dasgupta earned 18.1 percent. Steve Austin was in third place, with 15.8 percent of the vote as of 1 a.m. June 4, according to the Maryland State Board of Elections.

Incumbent Shebra Evans had 55.2 percent of the District 4 vote. Steve Solomon came in second with 36.5 percent. Both candidates will advance to the November election.

Montgomery County will chose three nonpartisan members to the Board of Education in November. The top two vote-getters in the June 2 primary for the at-large and District 4 seats will move on to the general election. District 2 only has two candidates who filed, so both candidates will advance to the general election.

The vote tallies will not become official until June 12, which is the date when all mail-in votes had to be postmarked. Once they are counted up, the final results will be certified.

County voters also selected congressional candidates for the November 3 ballot.

In District 3, incumbent John Sarbanes was the top vote getter with 80.3 percent of the vote on the Democratic ticket. The Republicans supported Charles Anthony, who received 42.4 percent.

In District 6, incumbent David Trone received 76.9 percent of the vote and so will be on the November ballot. Neil Parrott, with the support of 50.3 percent of Republican voters will also be on the general election ballot.

In District 8, incumbent Jamie Raskin received 88.2 percent of the votes by registered Democrats. Gregory Coll received 36.4 percent of the Republican votes.

Voters also chose four District Court judges to be on the November ballot. On the Democratic ticket, the top four voter getters, in order, were Michael McAuliffe, David Boynton, Christopher Fogelman and Bibi Berry.

Republican voters chose Bibi Berry, Michael McAuliffe, David Boynton and Christopher Fogelman.

Write a Comment

Related Articles