County Council Continues Support for District of Columbia Statehood

The Montgomery County Council will introduce another resolution in support of District of Columbia statehood on Tuesday.

The resolution is sponsored by Council President Tom Hucker and Councilmembers Nancy Navarro and Evan Glass.

This resolution is in support of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Government’s latest resolution, which calls for the District’s statehood. The Metropolitan. Washington Council of Governments is made up of 24 of the National Capital Region’s local governments and their officials. Members pull from the Montgomery County Council, Maryland and Virginia legislature and the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.

The resolution, H.R. 15, would give the 700,000 D.C. residents representation in Congress and autonomy, according to one of the lead sponsors, Councilmember Nancy Navarro.

Despite being the capital of the United States, the District of Columbia currently has no votes in Congress, nor a right to fully self-govern.

The council initially expressed its support for the District’s statehood in February when it passed a resolution sponsored by Councilmember Evan Glass. This resolution is a recommitment to the issue.

The council staff report and resolution can be found here.

Like this post? Sign up for our Daily Update here.

About Rachel Clair

Rachel Clair is a Senior at the University of Maryland studying Government and Journalism. She is interning at My MC Media for the spring months before graduation. In the fall, she will attend law school.


| Comments are closed.

Engage us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter