Terrel and Nic Steal the Show at MCM’s Monty Awards

Montgomery Community Media hosted the Monty Awards Grand Finale on Sunday honoring the many volunteers who have produced TV shows for MCM over the years. Hosted by longtime WUSA9 news anchor Andrea Roane, the Montys honored hosts, producers and technicians for the great work. Special awards went to Vernon Ricks who won the Bruce Adams Award and Casey Aiken, host of 21 This Week, who was inducted into the MCM Hall of Fame.

Winners of the Host and Viewer’s Choice Award categories, Nicolette Stearns and Terrel Limerick, were very grateful for their honors but more importantly for their platform to deliver a very important message.

Below, are the 2019 Monty award winners:

Arts & Humanities 

“Ginny’s…Where East Meets West”
Producer: Yen-Ju Chen


“Ginny’s…Where East Meets West”
Producer: Yen-Ju Chen


“Ginny’s…Where East Meets West”
Yen-Ju Chen

Health, Wellness and Sports

“Ginny’s…Where East Meets West”
Yen-Ju Chen

Public Affairs

“Perils for Pedestrians”
John Z. Wetmore


“Ginny’s…Where East Meets West”
Yen-Ju Chen


Nicolette Stearns and Terrel Limerick
Show: “Telling Your Story with Terrel and Nic”

Class Project

“Let’s Talk MoCo: VisArts Segment”
Students: Latisha Boyd, Noah Clarke, Luke Clarke, Melanie Smedira, and Vikram Kolluru

Viewer’s Choice 

“Telling Your Story with Terrel and Nic”
Producer: Marian Merewitz

Multimedia Visionary

Malcolm Ethridge and Benjamin Carter
“Manage Your Damn Money”

MCM Hall of Fame

Casey Aiken
Producer/Host: “21 This Week”


Phil Fabrizio
A Chainsaw Artist and Travilah’s Eagle

Most Active Field Producer

Amavi Missihou

Most Active Studio Producer

Yen-Ju Chen

For 30+ Years of Service to MCM (30 Years)

Karen Allyn

For 20+ Years of Service to MCM (30 Years)

Amavi Missihou

Briccio Barrientos

James Klimaski

John Z. Wetmore

Yen-Ju Chen

Ruth DeVoe

Marian Merewitz

Bill Randolph Award

Dick Terrill

New Member of the Year

Melanie Smedira

Haig Ellian Award

Harry Paul McCoy Jr.

Most Active Studio Tech (40+ Shows)

Bob Mattia

Susan Stevenson

Donna Merrifield

Honorable Mention

Cultural Program: “The Info Zone”
Youth Program: “Career Choices”


Write a Comment

Related Articles