2022 Primary Election Montgomery School Board District 3

Montgomery County voters will elect four nonpartisan members to the Board of Education in November. The top two vote-getters in the July 19 primary for the at-large and the District 1, 3 and 5 seats will advance to the general election.

Scott Joftus was appointed by the board in December 2021 to complete the term of Pat O’Neill, who died in September 2021. Joftus is a candidate for the race.

Candidates seeking the seat must reside in district 3 and include Marcus Alzona, Scott Joftus, and Julie Yang.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. July 19 for the primary election. Early voting is available from July 7 to July 14 at 14 early voting centers throughout Montgomery County.

Montgomery Community Media invited all candidates in this race to record a video statement.


Marcus Alzona

Website: MarcusAlzona.com
Facebook: MarcusAlzona4MD
Twitter: @MarcusAlzona
Instagram: @MarcusAlzona

Contact Information
Email: vote@MarcusAlzona.com
Residence: Bethesda


Video Statement by Marcus Alzona

Scott Joftus

Website: https://Joftus4BoE.com
Facebook: Scott Joftus
Twitter: @ScottJoftus

Contact Information
Email: scott@fourpointeducation.com
Residence: Bethesda


Video Statement by Scott Joftus

photo of Julie YangJulie Yang

Website: www.Julieyang.org
Facebook: julieyang4boe
Twitter: @JulieYangMoCo
Instagram: @julieyang4boe



Contact Information
Email: Yang4education@gmail.com
Residence: Potomac


Video Statement by Julie Yang