County Council Passes Second Resolution in Support of D.C. Statehood

The Montgomery County Council passed a resolution on Tuesday in support of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments’ (MWCOG) latest resolution calling for statehood for the District of Columbia. The resolution was first introduced on April 20.

The county had originally expressed its formal support for D.C. statehood in February with a resolution spearheaded by Councilmember Glass and cosponsored by the entire council. The second resolution is meant to reiterate the county’s commitment to the issue.

Council President Tom Hucker, Councilmember Nancy Navarro and Councilmember Evan Glass were the lead sponsors of the most recent resolution.

“The indefensible disenfranchisement of 700,000 D.C. residents is one of the remaining civil rights injustices of our time,” Hucker said. “Last week, I joined Senator Chris Van Hollen, Mayor Muriel Bowser, Virginia Congressman Gerry Connolly, Councilmember Nancy Navarro and our colleagues on the Board of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments to approve a resolution in support of D.C. statehood. Now I’m proud to introduce this to the Council with the full support of my colleagues.”

Despite having 700,000 residents, D.C. residents do not have a vote in Congress and cannot fully self-govern. D.C. residents currently pay more taxes than residents of 22 states and pay more per capita to the federal government than any other state. In 2016, 86% of D.C. voters approved a referendum to make D.C. a state.

According to a press release, given Montgomery County’s inter-connectivity with the population living and working in D.C., the County would be positively impacted by making D.C. the nation’s 51st state.

Previous Post

County Council Continues Support for District of Columbia Statehood

Write a Comment

Related Articles