Select Six Inducted Into Montgomery County Sports Hall of Fame

The Silver Spring Civic Center was the place to be Friday evening. The Montgomery County Sports Hall of Fame inducted their first six members during a ceremony that included a high school drum line and the Joy Supernova cheerleaders. Former Springbrook football and track star Shawn Springs, Bob Milloy who is Maryland’s all-time winningest high school football coach (and who coached Springs), gymnast Dominique Dawes who won a gold medal at the 1996 Olympic Games, former U.S. National soccer team member Bruce Murray, Walter Johnson (represented by his grandson Robert Johnson) and five-time Olympic gold-medal winning swimmer Katie Ledecky (represented by her mom Mary Gen) were feted by a crowd that included current County Executive Marc Elrich, former County Executive Ike Leggett and several councilmembers including Gabe Albornoz who hatched the idea of the hall of fame a few years ago.


Write a Comment

Related Articles